Discrimination (10)

So it is obvious that discrimination is bad. It has the power to strip a person of their rights, of their security, to put them in a compromising position . . . all because of who they are.

depression-1250870_1920
The effects of discrimination. Image taken from Pixabay.

The exclusion isolates a person, and according to eSchoolToday website, this leads to “anxiety, sadness, depression and a feeling of guilt and emptiness” (click here).

I can say, from personal experience, that this is how being discrimination left me feeling—like I was unimportant, like there was something wrong with me, and because of this, I tended to stick to myself. I won’t get into any specifics, but what I am trying to say is that, indeed, discrimination can seriously take its toll on a person’s mentality. According to Jen Wilson in her article Seemingly Harmless Discrimination Has Harmful Psychological Effects, no matter how “seemingly harmless” it is, it still can affect a person’s “general well-being, self-esteem, self-worth, and social relations.”

 

Leave a Reply

